Musings #13

Hola, shalom, and aloha friends! It’s been too long, but bean and nash have been through some fairly serious milestones since we last checked in (at least that’s what everyone tells us, I still have to google how to boil eggs). Luckily the HoLiDaY WeeKnD is almost upon us!!! I’m really loving this four-day week now that I’m #working at a real-ish job that I can’t oversleep (tested this theory out a few Fridays ago – realized you cannot skip work like you can skip class). Hopefully these internet finds will keep you occupied through only ONE more work day!

1. After recently moving into an apartment, I realize that I am finally able to decorate a space that is truly my own. Unlike dorms which look like prisons or my family home where my mom still controls every inch, my apartment is “mine” (for a small fortune compared to most of the world’s average rent). Having my own space = much more time spent browsing home sites and Pinterest and Houzz for ideas. One thing I am dying for and something that feels very adult, maybe too adult, is art. I would love to start collecting pieces now so that eventually I have a small compilation I can call my own. I am starting with Gray Malin‘s photography. I would kill for a giant, framed, aerial beach print. This, this, and this are a few of my favorites.

Bondi_Beach_7 Monterosso_Cinque_Terra Coogee_Beach_Horizontal_12 2. One of my other favorite websites for home goods is BRIKA. They carry everything from art to furniture to rugs and jewelry. I just picked up this wall hanging and bedside table dock for my apartment. Still coveting a few others things though…namely this lamp, these bowls, and this pillow. 9d1569529b2c4435c28da5a9236784ff 899fc51f29565a223f77fdb6cf18d2f5 2eed3241e681e0e1d10a829ff69340eb 3. This article on the issue of women saying sorry too much. I agree with what the author says and think that women should stop apologizing for everything, especially for things which aren’t our fault (duh). Quit it laydeez! 23Crosley-blog427 4. The Sill, a website which my coworker shared with me as a great gift idea. It seriously is, and as I’m getting more into plants myself, please do not be surprised (or alarmed) if my next gift to you is a cute little cactus. Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 11.21.39 PM Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 11.22.10 PM Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 11.22.24 PM 5. This jewelry collection by A. Jaffe. I’m all about traveling and exploring new places, so the idea of commemorating your favorites with a map necklace sounds amazing to me. The issue would be deciding which local to decorate a necklace with. mapn008_copy_copy 14r_di_rd_pdt_engraved_-_close_up mapch02_3 6. This recipe for grapefruit and watermelon agua fresca. It’s about to get real hot and steamy in New York as July and then August (ugh) get underway. If I have the time, or materials, or space…I will definitely be making this refreshing beverage. agua_fresca_01 agua_fresca_03 agua_fresca_05 7. Sneakers. Namely these Nikes or these Adidas. I would love a pair of comfortable shoes I could wear to work, both in the office and on the commute. The term “fashion sneakers” makes me cringe, but at the same time, my gym shoes would just not cut it. Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 11.40.49 PM M19585_01_standard-2 7. I know Gabby gave you her amazing music recommendations a few days ago, but I wanted to add some of my own. This song by The Weeknd, this remix, and this weekend jam are currently on replay.

8. This clothing company which just blew up all over my social media feeds. They encapsulate summer in their collection of florals, prints, and bright colors that make me wish it was 78 degrees year round (when do I not wish this?). 12 10. This series of interview videos by Vogue. So far I’ve watched Blake Lively, Daniel Radcliffe, and Sarah Jessica Parker. They are seriously addicting. Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 11.58.01 PM Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 11.56.25 PM That’s all for now – see you after the Fourth!

x C

Leave a Reply

