Summer Reading List

Throughout middle and high school, summer always brought promises of long days at camp, attempts to tan outside, and the constant stickiness that comes with melting popsicles. It also carried with it the looming, daunting prospect of summer reading. A book list assigned by teachers intended to ruin kids’ summer in one fell swoop, locking us in our rooms while the beautiful weather beckoned from outside. By the day before school, I would have usually trudged through the first three chapters of one of the books, always cramming the reading in during our annual trip to the North Carolina shore. It was, to say the least, a pain in my side from June to August.

Now, I relish the summer months as a time to catch up on reading. It’s a different type of reading, pleasure reading, something I definitely do not have time for during the packed academic semesters. The best time to read? The commute to and from work. Though nothing is appealing as I board the 7:24 train into New York City, the promise of a good book to pass the time makes it slightly more bearable. This summer, I plan to finish some classics, books that when I admit I haven’t read, people look at me like I have five heads. All dumb ones. I’ll also read through some of the more popular ones that have been lauded for their page-turning plot twists. This is my attempt to get through the commute and come out of the summer a little more literate. What’s on your summer reading list?

Classics:

The Sun Also Rises, Ernest Hemingway
My interest in Ernest Hemingway was peaked during my trip to Paris this last semester and this book is about the bull fights in Spain, so it seemed appropriate.

For Whom the Bell Tolls, Ernest Hemingway

Jane Eyre, Charlotte Brontë
Chick sounds fun.

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, Maya Angelou
After Maya Angelou’s recent passing, I’ve been reading her poetry and short novels. Every word that came out of her mouth seemed quotable and her unsurpassable narration skills carry into the pages of this novel.

1

Popular:

The Fault in our Stars, John Green
I usually hate the Jodi Picoult-type plots of depressing, moody teenagers with some sort of terminal illness or drug problem (sorry I’m not sensitive enough). These characters and plot, however, are different. The main narrator is a witty teenage girl and it’s entertaining, though saddening as well, living her life through the chapters. Plus she falls for a really great, and attractive guy, and that’s always fun to read about.

Where’d You Go, Bernadette?, Maria Semple
There are very few books that make me audibly laugh out loud. This is one of them.

The Cuckoo’s Calling, Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling)
A mystery set in London published under J.K. Rowling’s male pseudonym. I like J.K. Rowling, I like mysteries, and I like British accents. Adds up right?

2

What are you reading this summer? Let a sister know.

x
C

 

Leave a Reply

