Una Despedida

Ciao, hasta luego, adios, nos vemos, hasta pronto, me voy. What I really want to say is “hasta la próxima,” until next time. Tomorrow morning I leave Spain after being here for 5 months, 22 weeks, or 154 days. More than a third of a year, not quite half, but if given the chance I would stay for another 154 days in a second. I’m sad, incredibly sad, to leave Spain and my time here. I am not, however, forlorn, hopeless, or despairing. As much as I am pained to leave this country, which in many ways has become home, I am more sad to leave the people, the experiences, and the memories. It sounds cliché and what comes to mind are the ever true words of Fall Out Boy, Thks Fr Th Mmrs, but truly what bothers me is that the greater the span of time that passes between now and the future, the harder it will be to remember the small stories and events that made these past 5 months the best of my life. I wish I could encapsulate the semester into a memory that never fades, that I could always go back to if I wanted to laugh or feel amused or relive just a second of this experience. Photos, reminiscing with friends, talking with my host family, and even rereading this blog, will be my attempts to revisit Sevilla in the future.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

What’s more, I am sad that my study abroad semester is over. For my entire life it always seemed like a thing of the future, something that would happen eventually, inevitably, and would be amazing while it lasted. That nearly intangible thing of the future is ending tomorrow, and then what? I’m a senior in college. I don’t know what I want to do. My hobbies are spending time with my friends and traveling. And I no longer have 5 months of living in another country that seem built into my college experience.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThere is, thankfully, a brighter side to this. Apart from the general sadness that comes with leaving the people I have met in the city I’ve come to love, I am positive, absolutely sure, that I will live abroad again in the future. So as much as it hurts to leave this, specific abroad experience, it only makes me look forward more to the ones I will have in the future. Living in another country, to me, is one of the most interesting, exciting, and life-changing opportunities a person could have. I am grateful I have had the chance to study in another country, to live and come to feel at home. Sevilla will always be associated with the time I’ve spent here, and that alone is probably the greatest thing I could ask for.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Hasta la próxima y besos :*

x

C

Leave a Reply

