Love Is Pesto

Does anyone remember birthdays in middle school? When your friends got to school early to decorate your locker, inside and out? It would be wrapped in colorful paper and within your locker awaited streamers, candy, and goodies of all sort. Friends proudly presented the sugar-filled treats that they baked for you in honor of your special day.

If you ask me, there’s no better way to show someone that you care about them than cooking for them. Whether it’s slutty brownies (this recipe looks unreal) for a 13th birthday or pesto pasta just because, food is a wonderful way to say that you appreciate someone. You’re presenting them with a gift that you took the time to make yourself; food requires much more time and love than an AmEx gift card.

basil pic

My host mom cooks for me everyday. Granted it’s her job to take care of me, but I still appreciate that she puts so much effort into feeding me so well. She even keeps a little notebook where she writes down what she makes everyday so that she doesn’t make it twice! How cute is that?

When she told me that she had never made pesto, I knew what I was going to do with my free afternoon. Pesto is so easy and goes with literally everything; meat, pasta, starches. If you put pesto on a piece of cardboard I’d still lick it off. Maybe even take a bite out of the board; hey, you never know.

I followed this recipe, which was so easy. I didn’t toast the pine nuts because a) I didn’t have time laziness and b) I don’t think it’s necessary. But I’m sure it adds a nuttier and rustic flavor!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Happy cooking!

-G

PS. Are you giving anything up or doing something new for Lent? I’m giving up peanut butter. Yeah. It’s going to be a tough 6 weeks. One of my friends likes to commit to doing something everyday instead of giving something up. Maybe I should do 20 pushups a day, too. That way I’ll come back to the US of A looking swole. Opinions?

Leave a Reply

