The Fun Has Arrived in España

Hola todos, we are finally in Europe! Caroline has been here for about a week now and I am getting settled with my host mom, who is the cutest thing since mini cupcakes. She is 62 and demands that we speak no english in the casa, which is okay with me. Except when I have no idea what she’s talking about. Which occurs from time to time. When we arrived she suggested that we flip a coin to determine who got the big room in the apartment and I had no idea what on earth she wanted us to do until my roommate said ‘coin.’ I ended up getting the big room. YAY! I can see orange trees from my window, which is amazing. HOWEVER, we cannot eat the oranges because they’re too bitter and are used to make marmalades. Interesante, no?

The biggest adjustments I’ve had to make? Not eating dinner until 9PM, having to think in terms of kilograms, kilometers, euros, and 24 hour clocks. I went for a run today and and had no idea how to figure out how far I’d gone, since my phone only works if I have wifi (pronounced weefee). During my first night in Madrid I woke up in the middle of the night and panicked a little. I could not remember for the life of me where I was or what I was doing. I quickly remembered and calmed down, don’t worry.

Here are a few pics from the trip; enjoy!

abroad 1

abroad 2

abroad 3

My favorite foods so far? Croquetas, churros con chocolate, anything my host mom makes, café from anywhere, all soups (especially this one),  Spanish tortillas, sangria (because it has fruit so it counts as a food) and all of the seafood! We tried squid with grilled veggies while in Toledo and I think it changed my life.

Keep a look out for Caroline’s post on her abroad experience thus far! We’re meeting for vino manaña y no puedo esperar!

-G

Leave a Reply

