Hey, It’s Me, The Tough Mudder

Hi all! HAPPY HOLIDAYS! As I write this, I’m listening to Glee christmas music. Yes, there it is, I said it. That is happening. Embrace it. ANYWAY, as you can tell by now, I am a fan of fitness. I took my slight obsession to the next level when I completed a Tough Mudder this past summer with my dad and his friends.

IMG_2471

^^tbt lol.

Don’t know what a Tough Mudder is? It’s the toughest event on the planet. Just kidding, that’s just what they call it. It’s probably not. But it’s still tough. It is a 10-13 mile obstacle course that tests your strength, stamina, mental grit, and camaraderie. A TM is not a challenge to try to complete by yourself; your team members play a huge role in your ability to complete the muddy challenge. I met with my team a few times before the race to train together at my high school’s obstacle course, where we mimicked some of the obstacles that we would face at the race.

Tough_Mudder_SoCal_2013_Walk_the_Plank

^^I did that. It sucked.

There are 20-25 insane obstacles throughout the course of the race. My personal least favorites? The electric eel (getting electrocuted while crawling on your belly through mud), the arctic enema (jumping into freezing cold ice water and swimming under a barrier to your escape from the cold hell), and trench warfare (crawling through dark, narrow trenches). The rest of the obstacles are hard but nothing you can’t handle as long as you’ve trained properly. Jumping over fire wasn’t fun, actually. Yeah, that’s a thing in a Tough Mudder. Sh!t gets cray.

2011-Tough-Mudder-NorCal-Gudko-1746472733-O

How did I train for this ridiculous race? I got a trainer, that’s how. We met in January and he taught me lots of fun moves. Prereqs to doing a TM? You have to be able to do multiple pull-ups and push-ups. Upper body strength is absolutely a must. When I first started training, I couldn’t do a single pull-up. Nope, not one. I was like a weak little chicken. By the time the mudder came around, I was doing 10 at a time. YES! THAT HAPPENED! It doesn’t happen anymore though. Sad.

Since the race requires some serious running, I tried to run a couple times per week, usually 4-7 miles at a time. The race is very stop and go since you’re pausing for obstacles, so the most you run at a time is about a mile. That mile is no fun. Tough Mudders are usually on farms or ski mountains, so there are lots of hills. “I love hills!” said no one, ever. If you’re considering training for a tough mudder, definitely do some hill drills from time to time (did you like that rhyme?).

The race was pretty tough, especially because it was 90 degrees outside when we did it. I do not lie. But would I do it again? 100% yes. I had the time of my life racing with my teammates. We supported each other the entire time and had so much fun. Upon completing the race, I remember screaming “YES!” I grabbed my orange sweatband of success that every Tough Mudder finisher gets, headed for the beer table (YES, THEY SERVE BEER AT THE END!), sat down, and just drank. I deserved it.

Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 5.53.47 PM

^^lol here’s an embarrassing picture that I refuse to pay $25 to download.

I was sore for a few days after the race and had some nice scratches that left a couple of glorious scars on my legs. But honestly, I couldn’t be more proud of my scars. I earned them. The Tough Mudder helped me to embrace being strong. Strength feels food. I learned to love being muscular rather than skinny. And plus, building muscle meant for me that I had to eat more, which I was totally down for.

So what I’m trying to say is…DO A TOUGH MUDDER! Get a group of your friends together and start training however you can. You will have some of the most fun you’ve ever experienced.

tough-mudder3

Also, here’s a yummy link: 22 Instagram Accounts Food Lovers Should Follow in 2014. I don’t follow too many food bloggers on Instagram because it just makes me hungry. But I can confirm that I have seen all of these accounts before and am obsessed. Why can’t food just all be healthy? Who thought it would be a good idea for food to make people fat if they ate too much? That was dumb.

-G

Leave a Reply

