It’s Autumn: My Top 6 Wardrobe Essentials

Greetings, little ones! As I was sitting in my room today contemplating getting ahead on my work, I remembered that I had not posted on the blog in a while! I first asked myself what I might write about. Food? No. Boys? Definitely not. Clothes? There’s an idea.

Caroline and I make a mean team; she focuses on fashion and travel while I prefer to focus on food, fitness, and random thoughts. I don’t want you all to start thinking that I have no fashion sense of my own, so I thought I might weigh in on what my Fall/early Winter closet essentials are! Let us know what your favorite are too! We’re always in the mood to shop.

Dark Wash Skinny Jeans

4005_harmony_l

These are my favorite pair of jeans. I’ve had them for a year now and am still obsessed with them. They go perfectly with flats, converse, boots, and booties. The wash is just right; flattering, smart, and classic. They are just tight enough so that I don’t feel like they’re falling down but I also feel like my legs have room to breathe. They are the softest jeans I’ve ever owned and definitely worth the money. A plus: the waistline is mid-rise, which I love. I’m not 13 anymore and have grown out of my extra-low rise jeans. Sorry that I like my entire bum to be covered when I sit down and to feel like I’m all tucked in.

A Nautical Striped Shirt

pki100001830

I live in the Northeast, so did you really expect this not to be on the list? I am wearing my favorite striped shirt right now, which I found at a flea market over the summer (with Caroline, duh). I wear stripes all year round, but this shirt is perfect. It’s heavy and warm, making it perfect for brisk fall days. I love to throw a scarf over it; two patterns can be a good thing. It’s long enough that I can wear it with leggings and not feel like my entire bum is exposed, which is great.

Brown Riding Boots

vince-camuto-kabo-tall-leather-boot-with-buckles-d-00010101000000~254358_alt1

I bought those boots last year and it pains me to see them marked down so much. Good for buyers this season, I suppose. These boots are more or less my prized possessions. The photo online does not do them justice. The color is absolutely beautiful and they are accented perfectly by buckles in all the right places. The zipper on the inside isn’t too jingly, which can be annoying. They are so comfortable and pair perfectly with everything.

Classic Leather Tote

53228_BR6755

Scratch the boots being my prized possessions; this bag may take the cake for my favorite thing. It will never go out of style due to its simple design. It is roomy but not too bulky, and the leather appears worn without looking old. Carrying this bag to my internship this summer really made me feel like adult. Woo, careers!

Chambray Shirt

56933_DM0349_m

I am obsessed with my cham. My time working at Madewell was often spent fantasizing about which cham I would buy the next time I was paid. Chambrays are exactly the right thing when I’m looking for something to throw over my t-shirt that won’t be too warm or too light. Wear yours over a striped tee and a printed scarf and you’ll be all set.

Scarves

I am notorious for my scarf collection. I have a hanger in my closet that’s actually made to hold scarves. They don’t all fit on there, so my bulkier winter scarves sit on a shelf in my closet. I. Freaking. Love. Scarves. They are the perfect accent for any and every outfit. Wearing a solid sweater and want to jazz up your look? Wear a scarf. Cold neck? Wear a scarf. In a scarf mood? Wear a scarf, honey. Here is a picture of my most recent scarf purchase, from J.Crew obviously. They have a wonderful collection of scarves. Simply fabulous.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Have a wonderful week!

-G

Leave a Reply

