NYFW: Impressions #1

New York Fashion Week is well under way and as a result, my social media feeds are absolutely exploding with clips from shows, street style fashion and rad after parties that I fervently wish myself into. Leandra Medine’s Instragram, usually hilarious and amazing, is even better than usual, with images of her daily looks and her seat mates at the shows. Yesterday, Danielle and Jodie Snyder of DANNIJO were preparing for their show and I was holding my breath at every update. Even though I can’t be there for the glitz and gloss of NYFW, I wanted to review some of my favorite shows and looks with ya’ll here on le blog. I hope this in some small way, brings the glory of fashion week to everyone at home.

Opening Ceremony:
Opening Ceremony brought back images of car chases from 2 Fast 2 Furious circa 2003. The Asian-inspired pieces and car show staging was uniquely different and displayed the clothing beautifully. Not only did the Japanese style kimonos harken to the East, but the folds and cut of the pieces reminded me of individual origami works. Cars whisked in one by one, while models exited in garments equal to the race cars themselves. The color scheme was primary, with bold red and blue hues contrasting on darker surfaces and patterns. Though 2003 was a rough fashion year for me, this show made me want to return to the golden days and all their glory.

Opening Ceremony 1 Opening Ceremony 2

Delpozo:
Delpozo. Changed. My life. I want to live in a world where everyone wears this line all of the time. This show was up my alley for so many reasons. The colors, fabrics and shapes were ethereal. Some of the outfits reminded me of scenes from Pan’s Labyrinth (maybe this is what Josep Font, the creative director, was thinking). The bell skirts were prime as were the floral decals that literally popped out at you. Even the simple looks, like the oversized white sleeveless top and voluminous tan/yellow skirt were perfectly executed. The Madrid-based label is only in its second year of NYFW fame, but the silhouettes and pieces Font turned out guarantee a lasting place in the show line-up. Plus, these models achieved the impossible by making turquoise eye-liner cool again (my 6th grade self thanks you).

Delpozo 2 Delpozo 1 Delpozo 3

Misha Nonoo:
Noo one did not fall head over heels in love with this show (excuse the bad pun). The runway was full of calm pastels and sweeping fabrics – satin, crepe and silk. It reminded me of impressionist artwork. Threads of Pissarro, Manet and Cezanne were evident in many of the pieces. Nonoo also took the working girl and made her uniform something bright, easy and flowy, very unlike the usual stiff and structured looks. Open blazers and silk button-downs make office wear look attractive and feminine. Plus, I l-o-v-e those hats. They are so rad.

Nonoo 1 Nonoo 2
Last thing, check out this pic from Refinery29’s insta (from the Karen Walker show). I just thought all these people looked so damn cool. Stay tuned for more impressions!! Ok pce out ;*

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 7.13.39 PM

x
C

2 thoughts on “NYFW: Impressions #1

  1. Pingback: Fashion and Art, Art and Fashion | bean + nash

  2. Pingback: US and NYFW | bean + nash

Leave a Reply

