City Guide: Washington, D.C.

Last weekend, I went to DC to visit some school friends. The last time I was in Washington was almost 6 years ago so I was eager to return and re-explore the city. While I was there, I squeezed in some good meals and great shopping as well. Here is my guide to a quick vaca in DC!

dc13

Eat:

Founding Farmers – best for lunch and dinner

This breakfast, lunch and dinner spot is ideal for a quick bite or catch-up fest. The restaurant itself is beautiful, with big floor to ceiling windows that allow people watching and comfortable old wood furniture. The menu is extensive, and I was just looking at their lunch options. Founding farmers boasts locally sourced ingredients in all their dishes. Everything my friends and I ordered was delicious, from my tomato soup which was bursting with fresh tomato flavor without being overly creamy to my friends massive meatloaf which was nostalgia on a plate. Both the atmosphere and eats were incredible at this centrally located restaurant find.

 

dc6

dc5

Kafe Leopold – best for brunch

This brunch made my life. Leopald’s is the only place to go for brunch in Georgetown. The adorable area can be overrun with tourists, especially with everyone looking for grub to cure their hangovers, but Leopald’s is tucked away in a quiet alley, isolated and quaint. They offer both indoor and outdoor seating. My friend and I sat outdoors and it was as if we were transported to Europe. Small cafe tables are set up around a quiet fountain and blue umbrellas shade everyone from the sun. The brunch menu is amazing, full of delicious options like their omelets (I had one with kale and goat cheese) and their berry filled crepes. Honestly at this place, I would be in heaven just sufficing on their breadbasket and huge assortment of coffee drinks.

dc4

dc3

dc2

dc1

Additional – I didn’t have time to check it out but heard that Farmers, Fishers, Bakers is also a great place to grab a bite

Sites:

Shopping in Georgetown

Like I said before, Georgetown can be very crowded and touristy, but the combination of beautiful old streets and the amazing selection of shops is hard to pass up. My friend and I stopped into common places, like Urban Outfitters and H&M, but what I was most impressed with was the large number of high-end consignment stores. Vintage shopping can be tricky, often times ending in rifling through racks and racks of mothball scented garments before landing upon a lucky find. These consignment and vintage stores however had pieces from Coach, Chanel and Celine (what a trifecta). My recommendation is to skip the brand name stores and save your money for the perfect old quilted cross-body or pleated skirt.

dc10

dc9

Francis Scott Key Bridge

This site seeing bridge is the perfect spot for walking, biking or kayaking. There is an abundance of beautiful views and it gives you a great chance to work off all the delicious things you ate for lunch. I didn’t have time to check it out last weekend, but on future trips I am definitely going to rent a kayak (with anyone brave enough to go with me) and take a spin on the relaxing Potomac River.

dc7

dc8

Here are my recommendations for a quick 48 hours in DC! Hope they help!

xx C

dc14

dc12

dc11

Leave a Reply

