I Did It: The Blueprint Cleanse

Some may call me crazy. Actually, I would call me crazy. From Friday the 12th until Sunday the 14th, I only drank juice. And I’m not talking the orange kind. No peanut butter, no chocolate, no avocado.

Yes. You did hear that right. Now, if you fell out of your chair, please get up and continue reading.

Since I work at a health and fitness magazine, I constantly hear people talk about cleanses, super-foods, and health-topics of that nature. My boss just did a cleanse and we chatted about it everyday. It was hilarious. She was not a fan of the ginger juice. I have a history of stomach issues–my freshman year of school, I was constantly bloated and in the bathroom. I figured out my tummy problems and adjusted my diet so that my stomach does not stretch to the size of a exercise ball anymore.

HORRAY!

Every once in a while, I get bloated and my belly hurts and I lay on the floor begging God to alleviate my pain. Sometimes I can figure out the source of the madness taking place in my midsection (dairy, pasta, or too-much-PB consumption, most of the time). Other times, I just have to wait it out and curse my wild appetite for all things edible.

Lately, my old problems have made a comeback. WONDERFUL. REALLY. AWESOME.

I wanted to try something different this time, soI tried my very first cleanse! I chose the Blueprint Cleanse. There’s so much hype about it and it seems to be the most popular, so I went for it. I ordered the second-level cleanse, Foundation. It’s for people who are already health conscious but who haven’t gone totally granola and enjoy a french fry now and again but mainly stick to greens, nuts, fish, etc. YOU KNOW. THOSE PEOPLE. That’s me.

choose-your-cleanse

Here’s how Day 1 panned out:

6 AM: Go for a 5-mile run. Sweat a lot. Smell funky. Come home, shower, dress, go to work. Oh, drink warm water with lemon, too. Blueprint suggests it, and who am I to fight the masters’ logic?

9 AM: Get to work, crack open first juice, the Green Juice. Not as bad as I thought it would be! In fact, it ’twas enjoyable. Took me about 30 minutes to drink because the flavor is so intense.

10 AM: Massive headache sets in. Oh, so these are the side affects.

11 AM: Head to the fridge for #2, PAM. Pineapple, Apple, Mint. Way too sweet and sour for me. I had to dilute it with water. BUT I did feel energized afterwards.

1:10 PM: Grab #3, Green Juice again. Less sweet than PAM, which is a relief. I’m sippin slowly, as I already miss my lunchtime Amrita Bar. Meh. Come back.

3 PM: Time for the lemonade. Lemon juice, water, agave nectar, and cayenne. Slightly spicy, slightly sweet. I thoroughly enjoyed.

Between 3 and 5, all I could think about was how hungry I was. Could not get food out of my head. Not even a little bit fun.

5 PM: Juice #5. Green juice. Is it bad that by this point, I’m already sick of it? This might be more of a struggle than I thought.

8 PM: There is a God. For round 6, I’m sipping on Cashew milk, a blend of cashews, water, agave nectar, cinnamon, and vanilla. I would drink this baby for fun. Thank goodness Blueprint added this sweet, creamy number to their lineup, otherwise I think I would have given up a long time ago. **I did add extra vanilla. It needed a little something.**

Day 1 was done. I SURVIVED. I’m not going to pretend like it was easy; I was hungry and tired and my head hurt. But honestly, at the end of the day I felt light and like I had really started the healing process for my body. Go me!

Day 2: Wake up, go to spin class. It was pretty easy so I didn’t feel like I was unable to do it due to the lack of food in my tumtum. Although the only thing I thought about during the class was food. Toast with PB sounded pretty good 30 minutes in. I would have killed for a bowl of oatmeal. Afterwards, I was quite hungry. I had my green juice and ate an apple. SUE ME. I needed something solid. While I made these, I drank juice 2, PAM. Had to water it down again. Around 2, I drank green juice #2. No complaints. I also ate some strawberries. I made the decision that with each green juice, I would eat some fruit. I was getting pretty dizzy so I thought something of more substance might help. At 4, it was time for lemonade. Yay! After I downed that, I went bathing suit shopping. Let me tell you, there is no better time to bathing suit shop than when you are on a cleanse. At 630, I had my green juice. I also ate an apple and some celery; my dad proceeded to nosh on celery with hummus (my favorite) as I stared at him resentfully. At 8, I practically ran for juice 6, the cashew milk. Added vanilla and almond milk. I wanted it to last longer. Yep. DAY 2 WAS COMPLETE. One. More. Day.

Day 3: Wake up and sip the green juice and eat an apple. IT’S THE LAST DAY. HAPPY HAPPY JOY JOY. I went to the gym and did cardio and lifted and felt fine. Went home and drank PAM, diluted of course. Hung out at a friend’s pool and drank my green juice. Weird. Over it. Ate another apple and a bunch more slices! I cannot say no. I went home later and downed the lemonade–so enjoyable. For dinner, I enjoyed green juice and a peach. Oh, and some celery. By this point, I was a little sick of the green juice. Later, I had my last cashew milk. I WAS DONE. I AM DONE.

IT’S OVER.

Things I learned while cleansing?

I love food.

I like cashew milk.

I don’t need nuts with every meal.

Vegetables and fruits really do make you lose weight.

PB doesn’t need to be a daily occurrence in my life. Sad but true.

I need food.

Sad to say that I might not be the cleanse type. Sure, I’d do one before a big night or an event I needed to look good for. But on a random summer weekend? Probably not. Hey, at least I can say I tried a cleanse.

Have you ever tried one? What did you think? Do share!

Photo cred: The Cleanses

-G

2 thoughts on “I Did It: The Blueprint Cleanse

  1. Pingback: My Limitless Christmas List | bean + nash

  2. Pingback: Abroad and Ice Cream | bean + nash

Leave a Reply

