Blueberry Banana Muffins

This weekend, I am doing a juice cleanse. No solid food.

It has been a struggle. Post to come. Get excited to read all about my suffering.

Most sane people would stay away from food, not needing a reminder of what they’re missing out on. Me? I’m a glutton for punishment. I’ve been watching the food network the entire time. I love the smell of my mom’s feta, spinach, tomato, onion omelet. BRING IT ON.

So naturally, what do I do while on a cleanse? I cook! I need something to do with my time. Shocking to realize how much time I spend eating…whoops.

We had about 5 brown bananas lying around, perrrrrfect for muffins. Everyone in my family (besides me because I’m overly health-conscious) loves muffins. So I volunteered to bake them.

DSC_0068

Like I said, I’m a glutton for punishment.

The recipe is from one of my mom’s favorite old cookbooks, the Pennsylvania Grange Cookbook. She has had it since 1972. The recipe I used only calls for bananas, but everyone loves some good add-ins. So I added blueberries to the entire batch, split it in half, and proceeded to add chocolate chips to one half (for my brother) and raisins to the other (for my dad). My mom will eat any variation of banana muffin.

Here’s the recipe! Enjoy!

Banana Bread-Adapted from Pennsylvania Grange Cookbook

1 3/4 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup butter/shortening
2/3 cups sugar
2 eggs, well beaten
2 cups mashed bananas

Options Add-Ins: nuts, fruit, chocolate chips, raisins, craisins, seeds, whatever you like.

Directions:

Preheat over to 350 degrees.

Throw your bananas into a mixing cup and mash with a fork or beat with a hand mixer. This makes it easier to mix the fruit into the other ingredients.

Mix together flour, baking powder, soda, and salt. Beat butter until creamy. I suggest popping it in the microwave for 30 seconds first.

Add sugar gradually, beating until light and fluffy.

Add eggs and beat well.  Add your mashed bananas, mixing until everything is combined.

Add flour mixture to your wet mixture, beating until smooth.

Using a spatula or wooden spoon, mix your add-ins into the batter.

Spoon your ingredients into well-greased muffin tins.

Bake until the tops are browned and the muffins are cooked through. This should take between 20-30 minutes, depending on the strength of your oven.

Hope you like them.

-G

One thought on “Blueberry Banana Muffins

  1. Pingback: Holiday Breakfast-Baked Oats | bean + nash

Leave a Reply

