Paleo Carrot Banana Muffins

I love sweet pastries. I will eat them for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. And dessert, obviously. They are the perfect addition to any time of day. Having a lame Monday? Sink your teeth into a chocolate croissant. I guarantee that you will feel better, if only for a few minutes. Wednesday got you down? Never doubt the power of a good chocolate chip cookie. Sometimes Most of the time, that’s all you need to lift your spirits.

paleomuffins1

Most of us, however, are not blessed with lightening-fast metabolisms that allow us to rid delectable butter and sugar out of our systems quickly and without issues. As I have grown older, I have arrived at the utterly heartbreaking conclusion that I cannot eat like I did when I was 13. One brownie every once and a while? Fine. But four in one sitting? My rear end will not thank me, and neither will my stomach. Darn you, digestive system.

paleomuffins2

paleomuffins3

paleomuffins4

Luckily for us, chefs, bloggers, and homemakers alike have taken an interest in super-healthy cooking in recent years. Remaking your favorite dish with healthy, light ingredients is the hot thing. Why add butter to brownies when you can add applesauce? Throw in a few black beans while you’re at it. No one will know.

paleomuffins5

Returning to my love of pastries, one of my favorites is the almighty muffin. One of God’s many gifts to mankind, a muffin makes the most perfect breakfast or afternoon snack. But realistically speaking, if you just smear some icing on one of those bad boys, a muffin is basically a cupcake with some gooey, delicious frosting on top. But hey, why not make a muffin healthy? A few days ago when my muffin craving hit, I decided to google “paleo muffins.” I figured, what the heck, they can’t be so bad.

paleomuffins6

After finding this recipe, I tried my hand (and spatula) at these. They may be the most moist muffins I have ever had. The bananas and dates in them add a natural sweetness which makes up for the lack of sugar. I also convinced myself that by using almond meal, I was basically eating almonds, one of nature’s healthiest nuts. The muffins were delicious, and satisfied my muffin tooth (is that a thing? can we make it a thing?) just as fully as a Starbucks muffin could have.

paleomuffins7

 

paleomuffins8paleomuffins9

One thought on “Paleo Carrot Banana Muffins

Leave a Reply

